Over 380 billion plastic bags and wraps are used each year, approximately 40% of the bags used are single-use plastic bags, and the 380 million plastic bags require an estimated 12 million barrels of oil to create. Roughly 19 billion pounds of plastic garbage end up in the Earth’s oceans each year. No body of water, waterway, beach, or shoreline is unaffected by this pollution.

The Jersey Shore chapter is advocating for the City of Asbury Park to introduce an ordinance that would ban plastic bags and tag a fee on paper bags. Banning the distribution of single-use, plastic carryout bags by businesses is appropriate and will incentivize the use of reusable and recycled bags at businesses and ultimately, protect the environment, wildlife, and the public health, welfare, and safety. We encourage you to call and email the officials below to tell them you support banning plastic bags and putting a fee on paper bags in Asbury Park!

Mayor John Moor 732-502-5755 John.moor@cityofasburypark.com

Dep. Mayor Amy Quinn 732-775-2100 Amy.quinn@cityofasburypark.com

Jesse Kendle 908-433-1789 Jesse.kendle@cityofasburypark.com

Yvonne Clayton 732-710-6415 Yvonne.clayton@cityofasburypark.com

Eileen Chapman 732-775-2100 Eileen.Chapman@cityofasburypark.com

The chapter is also advocating for the City of Long Branch to introduce an ordinance that would ban the intentional release of balloons. The release of inflated balloons poses a danger and nuisance to the environment, particularly to wildlife and marine animals. Throughout numerous beach cleanups in 2018 & 2019, we have seen an average of 10 to 15 balloons per cleanup picked up off the beaches by volunteers. In New Jersey, a growing number of towns have banned the intentional release of balloons including (in alphabetical order) – Atlantic City, Bradley Beach, Brigantine, Cape May City, Egg Harbor City, Long Beach Township, Longport, Margate, New Milford , North Wildwood, Sea Isle City, Somers Point, Upper Township and Ventnor. We encourage you to call and email the officials below to tell them you support banning the intentional release of balloons in Long Branch!

Mayor John Pallone 732-571-5640 johnpallone@longbranch.org

Dr. Mary Jane Celli mjcelli@longbranch.org

Roberto Ferragina 732-923-2041 rferragina@longbranch.org

Click Here to Read: Asbury Park Introduces Intentional Balloon Release Ban!

Click Here to Help New Jersey Pass the Strongest Plastic Pollution State Bill in the Nation!!