On November 8, 2018, after 2.5 hours of public comment requesting iStar to stop construction at the North Beach in Asbury Park, the City Council ultimately passed a resolution forcing iStar to cease and desist construction and recommended renegotiation of the city’s 2002 Waterfront Redevelopment Plan.

The Jersey Shore Chapter would like to thank all those who came to the meeting and voiced their concerns. You were truly heard. The organizers did an amazing job: Kathleen Mumma, Catherine Murphy, Kerry Butch, Madeline Monaco, Pam Lamberton, Joyce Grant, Melanie Holzberg, Robert LoBiondo, Paula Schildge and our own Diana Pittet & Bill “Doc” Rosenblatt. In the words of Kathleen Mumma, “Though this experience far from over, I’ll always be grateful for this crazy time where I met so many cool neighbors and a sincere thanks to all of the community leaders and dignitaries who stated their public support…”

The Surfrider Foundation: Jersey Shore Chapter is dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of the ocean, waves and beaches. We support the goals of Save Asbury’s Waterfront: stop iStar’s waterfront construction at the North Beach immediately and renegotiate a Waterfront Redevelopment Plan that is transparent, environmentally sensitive and inclusive.


Please thank the Asbury Park City Council Members for listening and taking action! The Council’s email addresses can be found here: cityofasburypark.com/council/

Special thanks to those who spoke at the press event:

Kathleen Mumma, Host – Welcome
Dr. Madeline Monaco, President, 1501 Ocean Association – Public Access
Kay Harris, Historical Society & Business Owner – Open Public Space
Joyce Grant, Founder, Citizens for Oceanfront Preservation – North Beach Preservation
Reverend Gil Caldwell, Civil Rights Activist, The Dialogue Group – Social Inclusion and History
Pam Lamberton, Asbury Park Complete Streets – Transparency & Access
Diana Pittet, Surfrider Foundation – Public Access and Environmental Concerns
Avery Grant, New Jersey Environmental Justice Alliance – Environmental and Social Justice Concerns
Capt. Paul Eidman, Anglers Conservation Network – Fish & Wildlife Conservation
Tim Dillingham – American Littoral Society – Environmental Concerns
Cindy Zipf, Clean Ocean Action – Environmental Concerns
Senator Vin Gopal
Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling